About Us

The Square One Education Network provides opportunities to schools and other K-12 learning environments, enabling them to provide innovative, meaningful STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) programs.

Our Board of Directors are industry leaders and educators with a common vision that students should have the opportunity to pursue technology oriented careers through authentic, hands-on science, mathematics and engineering opportunities.

Board of Directors

  • Chairman: Michele Mueller, Michigan Dept. of Transportation
  • Vice Chairman:  Tom Eisbrenner, Eisbrenner Public Relations
  • Secretary: Paul Drummond, Retired Macomb Intermediate Schools
  • Treasurer:  Michelle Brower, Stout Advisory
  • Will Sommerville, OPS Solutions, LLC
  • Tom Gioia, Retired Ford Motor Company
  • Mike Tucker, Retired Intel Corporation
  • Julie Zona
  • Brendan Cahill, Dykema

Advisory Council
Rico Racosky, Southwest Airlines
John Waraniak, Supplemental Equipment Market Association (SEMA)
David Turner, (Retired) Eaton Corporation


Dan DuBois

Barb Land

Project Specialists:

Special Projects

Michael Tucker

Full-Scale Innovative Vehicle Design
Doug Ward

Mini Innovative Vehicle Design Racing
Bob Smitka

Connected Vehicle (V2X/Masters of Mobility) Technologies
JC Irvine
Bob Jones

Underwater Remotely Operated Vehicles/Underwater Innovative Vehicle Design
Autonomous Innovative Vehicle Design
Bill Grimm

Intermediate ROV 
Keith Forton

Light Weighting Technologies
Jim Schirmer

Chairman Emeritus
Len Tedesco, Oakshott Engineering
Joe Ziomek, JFZ and Associates
Jerry Rivard

Executive Director Emeritus

Karl Klimek

Square One is a proud member of:
Council of Michigan Foundations
Automation Alley
Detroit Regional Chamber